You asked: Which countries speak Spanish and which countries speak Portuguese in South America?

Language Speakers Countries
Portuguese 211,754,600 Brazil, Venezuela, Paraguay, Uruguay, Argentina
Quechua 7,735,620 Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, Argentina, Chile, Colombia
English 6,925,850 Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Suriname, Guyana, Falkland Islands
Guarani 6,162,790 Paraguay, Bolivia, Argentina

Which South American countries speak Spanish and which speak Portuguese?

Is South America Spanish-Speaking?

Country Area (km2) Official Language
Brazil 8,514,877 Portuguese
Chile 756,950 Spanish
Colombia 1,138,910 Spanish
Ecuador 283,560 Spanish

Which countries speak Portuguese in South America?

As a result, Portuguese is now the official language of several independent countries and regions: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, East Timor, Guinea Bissau, Macau, Mozambique, Portugal, & São Tomé and Príncipe.

Why is Brazil the only Portuguese?

The reason Brazilians speak Portuguese is because Brazil was colonized by Portugal, but the history is a bit more complex. In the 15th century, Spain and Portugal were the “big guns.” Columbus had discovered America for Spain, while Portugal was advancing along the African coast.

Why is Spanish and Portuguese so different?

While the majority of lexical differences between Spanish and Portuguese come from the influence of the Arabic language on Spanish vocabulary, most of the similarities and cognate words in the two languages have their origin in Latin, but several of these cognates differ, to a greater or lesser extent, in meaning.

FASCINATINGLY:  Best answer: Is salmon available in Portugal?
All about Portugal